Anahata Chakra

The Fourth Chakra | Heart ChakraAnahata Chakra

>>Sanskrit Name: Anahata
>>Color: green
>>Element: air
>>Development: 4 – 7 years
>>Location: heart center
>>Balanced Qualities: love for oneself
Imbalanced Qualities: depression, seclusion
>>Main Right: to love and be loved
>>Body Location Where Physical Issues May Occur: circulatory system, heartChakras are major junctions of energy within the body.
>>Postures that Balance Chakra: Chest openers like Camel - Ustrasana, Fish - Matsyasana. Also Pranayama (breathing exercises) like Deep Breathing, Alternate Nostril Breathing and Heart Gesture - Hridaya Mudra
‘Anahad’ translates to unstruck, unbeaten, this is the harmonious center of love. Anahata chakra is situated in the centre of the chest, close to the heart. It is associated with the upper back, thorax and thoracic cavity, lower lungs, heart, the skin and the circulatory and lymphatic system.
The corresponding element is Air. Air represents freedom and expansion. This means that in this Chakra our consciousness can expand into infinity.
Anahata Chakra governs the sense of touch and is often symbolised by the colour green and a lotus flower with twelve petals. Its corresponding mantra is YAM.
The positive attributes of Anahata Chakra are love, understanding, forgiveness and empathy. Misdirected Manifestations include jealousy, sorrow and despair.
When completely opened, this chakra forms the center of true "unconditional" love.