Self-knowledge through the Chakras

Understanding the chakras, or vital energy centers, gives us self-knowledge at every level of our being...

The word chakra literally means a “spinning wheel”—an apt metaphor, as spirit uses the chakras to weave the fabric of life. The chakras govern our behavior, shape our emotional life, give expression to our deepest desires, and build the structure of our physical body and personality.

Understanding the chakras gives us self-knowledge at every level of our being.Chakras

Luckily for us, the chakras also map out the journey to fulfillment and enlightenment. Yoga is designed to use the energy of the chakras to accelerate that journey.

The chakra model describes how the life force, prana, circulates between two poles, one in the physical world of the body and the other in the realm of pure consciousness. We humans, strung out between them with all our longings, joys, doubts, and desires, embody both the gross physical reality and the infinite potential of consciousness. Prana nurtures and sustains every aspect of our body and mind through the six energy centers arranged on an axis through the core of the body between the top pole, infinity at the crown (the seventh chakra), and the bottom one, at the pelvic floor (the first chakra). For easy reference, you can view the chakras in respect to their position along the spine, but keep in mind they are not physical structures; rather, they are the loci of subtle energy, which manifests on many different levels, not just the physical.

To find out more about each energy centre, click on the below...

Sahasrara Cimages (2)hakra  

Ajna Chakra

Vishuddhi Chakra

Anahata Chakra

Manipura Chakra 

Swadhishthana Chakra

Mooladhara Chakra